Valdek Kwasniewski Takes 1st In MC Opener Copy

The MC Fleet held the first of a five race series on Saturday, November 15, 2014. It was very light air as we arrived at the club, waited until about 1 PM and the sea breeze kicked in from about 11 to 13 knots. There were five races to a weather mark, a leeward gate and finish at the committee boat between two marks. Generally, it was best to sail left to avoid the chop (and powerboat wakes) on port tack, and start at the leeward side of the start. For the last two races, the wind shifted more to the right.
John Tarrant had three outstanding firsts, but Valdek Kwasniewski was more consistent with all seconds and one first. Ted Weihe had one good race, twice around with a substantial lead all the way, but was over in one race and inconsistent. Lynn Scott had trouble holding her boat down, and Andy Hodgson and Bob Blomquist benefited from being doubles. Bob and Stephan traded helms, a good idea to introduce more sailors to MC racing.
We had an excellent race committee with Jay Tyson who lives on the East Coast but races and does race committee out of St. Pete, and our own, Jerry Wheeler. They used five minute starts and with the help of the Dolphins, stretched out the weather mark as the wind built.

Race Results – 11/15/2014

MC Series One – Race I

Valdek Wasnewski #2223 2,2,2,1,2 = 9
John Tarrent #1702 1,1,7,4,1 = 13
Randy Scott #2315 3,3,3,5,4 = 18
Andy Hodgson #2610 6,6,5,2,3 = 22
Bob Blomquist #1729 4,5,4,4,5 = 22
Ted Weihe #2581 7,4,1,6,6 = 24
Lynn Scott #2308 5,7,6,7,7 = 32
Larry Roemer #1476 8,8,9,8,9 = 4

By Ted Weihe

Comments are closed.