Sailing year draws to a close

As the end of our sailing year draws to a close, the Luffing Lassies took the time to celebrate another successful year which added many new members to our wonderful sailing club, saw many great sailing days, and provided lots of new sailing opportunities.

We would like to congratulate our Spring Series Winners:
Sunfish Luffers -  1st Joan Johnson, 2nd Donna Kestan and 3rd Jennifer Means.
Sunfish Salts - 1st Fran Mericle, 2nd Linda Tiffan and 3rd Zoe Burnett.
Sunfish Super Salts - 1st Ursula Olson, 2nd Linda Schwartz and 3rd Michelle Lee.

Our Top Pram Sailor of the Year was Gail Seidman and our Top Sunfish Sailor of the Year once again was Nanette Reuss.  Great job sailors!

We also would like to congratulate the following recipients of our perpetual trophies:
The Captain’s Award to both Michelle Lee and Linda Schwartz in recognition of their hard work and all that they have done for the Lassies this year; the Backbone Award to Captain Penny Durham; the Suzanne Burt Memorial Trophy to Lisa Ehrhart; the Most Improved Sailor to Jan Larrabee; the Anchors Away award to Debra Aldrich; and the In the Drink award to Gerri Holmes.
Michelle Lee and Lorri Kaighin were also recognized for their efforts in starting out Flying Scot program this year.

We would also like to congratulate our Lassies who participated in the Sunfish Women’s State Championship Regatta this past weekend up in Davis Island.  Rita Steele came in 2nd and Ursula Olson came in 5th.  Linda Schwartz once again made us proud by winning the Pub Crawl

The Lassies are looking forward to the annual Race Around Lido.  We are proud to organize and participate in this event.  It is a long standing Squadron tradition which is open to all types of sailors and boats and this year introduces two new course with one course specifically for paddlers - standing or seated.

Throughout the summer months you will find the Lassies hard at work getting our boats back into shape for our Introduction to Sailing class which will take place the week of August 31st.

Comments are closed.